NEA Honors for Girls 2023 Announced

Lakeside and Freeman were neck and neck this season in the race for the regular season title and the awards reflected that as they each had a player honored as MVP.

Both teams would finish with over 50 goals and under 10 allowed. Lakeside’s scoring powerhouse Ayanna Tobeck was recognized as the Offensive MVP as her side led the league in goals with 64. Freeman allowed just six on the season (just one back of Lakeside’s five) with centerback Rowan McGarity receiving the Defensive MVP award.

The pair split their season series with Freeman winning at home 2-0 and Lakeside taking the second contest at home in a shootout after a 1-1 draw, and ultimately the regular season title by a three-point margin. In the postseason though, it was Freeman grabbing the district title with a 3-1 win.

Jeremy Proctor of Riverside was honored as one of the co-Coaches of the Year as the Rams nearly crashed the party this season, finishing a point back of Deer Park for third and handing Freeman one of their shootout losses.

Complete Awards List